On a roll

I’m still determined to make a better bread.  I’ve somehow veered away from making ‘survival bread’ and am focusing on making delicious breads to eat.  The first one was too dense, then the next one the crust was hard.  The Spanish rolls were good but not quite as buttery as I imagined. I want to make a bread that looks, smells, and tastes like what I’m imagining in my head.  How do grocery stores and local bakeries do it?  Well, I have a theory and it involves sponge and a a day of letting it sit, but I’m way too impatient for that.

Anyway,  I made some dinner rolls to go with … dinner!  Actually, after dinner.  Apparently, if you’re going to bake in Pyrex you should bring down the oven temp — the crust cooked and hardened while the inside was still dough.  Oops.  So what should’ve taken 20 minutes and consumed with the pasta I made, ended up being an hour post-meal with butter and strawberry jam.  Still good!

There’s one thing I don’t get about all these recipes.  People post them, other people try them and comment about how they love them, but when I try it, it doesn’t come out how everyone else describes it.  Is it being in Hawaii?  The ingredients here aren’t the same (Big Island Hawaiian Honey is a lot darker and actually made my bread look whole wheat)?   I don’t know exactly why.  But what I do know is that I need to boost my confidence and make some recipes that I know will turn out.

Leave a Reply

